Munich, Germany

10 Jul

First of all, I think that living in Paris kind of changed my perspective, because everything is so expensive here, everywhere else looks really cheap to me, even though my friends kept complaining about the cost of food and drinks.
Anyway, after we arrived I needed a snack, so 1.80 euro went towards my pretzel, and it was worth it: cut in the middle and stuffed with cream cheese and chives – YUMMY

After I was done we walked around the streets at the city center to get the feel of the place, and ended up at a brewery, unexpected, right?

Fun fact to know about the lions at Odeonsplatz (a really nice local guy told us the story):
There are 2 lions, one on the left, closer to city hall, with its mouth open, and the second, closer to the church is with its mouth closed. Apparently, at earlier times, this square was used by the people to gather and protest. The lions symbolized that you are allowed to speak against the city hall (hence the open mouth) and not against the church (here goes the closed mouth). Hitler was the first one ever to stand there and protest against both of them together.

Can’t really say what I thought about the city because I didn’t have much time, I added it to my “to do list”.

Any recommendation for the next time?

2 Responses to “Munich, Germany”

  1. adinparadise July 14, 2012 at 12:43 #

    Very interesting story about those lions. šŸ˜‰ Your pretzel looks delicious.

    • Emma August 2, 2012 at 12:58 #

      it was.. I loved the food there, Paris is a great place to dine in, but the street food section is lacking here..

Leave a Reply

